Civil Rights in Region 8

How the UAW Civil Rights Department Came About

The UAW recognized the close similarities between workers’ rights and civil rights early on and created a Fair Practices Anti-Discrimination Department during the 10th Constitutional Convention in 1946. This led to the creation of the "No Discrimination Policy" of the UAW. The delegates at the 27th Convention, held in 1983 changed its name to the Civil Rights Department.

Civil Rights Provisions in the UAW Constitution

Specific provisions regarding the Civil Rights Department can be found in Article 26 of the UAW Constitution.

In this Article, Section 5 states; "It shall be mandatory that each Local Union set up a Civil Rights Committee. The specific duties of this committee shall be to promote fair employment practices and endeavor to eliminate discrimination affecting the welfare of the individual members of the Local Union, the International Union, the labor movement and the nation. "


Region 8's Role

The Regional Director is charged with the responsibility of preventing any violation of the "No Discrimination Policy" of the UAW within the Region.




Region 8 RACOCHR Officers

President                       Corey Mims                  Local 276

Vice President              Stephen Loomis           Local 3520

Recording Secretary    Robert Sutton               Local 1956

Financial Secretary      Paul Mattison               Local 5285

Member at Large         Daniel Davila                Local 862

Region 8 NACOCHR Officers

President                       Corey Mims                  Local 276

Member at Large         Daniel Davila                Local 862

UAW Region 8 Civil and Human Rights Councils

KY/TN Civil and Human Rights Council

President                Anthony Walker              Local 2164

Vice President       Clayton Oswamkpe         Local 3058

Recording Sec.       Shawn MacIntyre            Local 862

 Financial Sec.        Lorraine Morgan             Local 1853

NC/SC/VA Civil and Human Rights Council

President              William Strickland         Local 5287

Vice President      John Smith                     Local 3520

Recording Sec.      Latanya Hart                 Local 5285

Financial Sec.         Diane Burks                  Local 2069



UAW Civil Rights Policy





All information contained with the Region 8 Web Site is copyrighted© by UAW Region 8.
It cannot be reused or printed without written consent from UAW Region 8.